make a donation to the fz1oa
fz1oa chat
fz1oa picture uploader
maintain your own photo albums
locate fz1oa members
Members Assistance Guide
search the entire board
click here for fz1oa web site home page
register a new account, it's free!
fz1oa store
email the fz1oa webmasters
read the fz1oa guidelines
read the fz1oa policy
open pat's fz1 site in a new window
open iowaz fz1 site in a new window
technical tips

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > Exhausts, Carburetion & Performance > Gen 1 Exhausts, Carburetion & Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2018, 02:12 PM   #21
5lv
Registered User
 
5lv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,898
If it works, why is it a waste of time?
__________________
Milhouse: Trust me Bart, it's better to walk in on both your parents instead of just one of them.

5lv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 03:13 PM   #22
klj7734
Registered User
 
klj7734's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Slope
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5lv View Post
If it works, why is it a waste of time?
Build one, use it, buy a Carbtune Pro, use it then ask me again.
klj7734 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 06:18 PM   #23
old77zrider
Registered User
 
old77zrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Was Long Island now Concord NC
Posts: 1,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mran556 View Post
So u only adjust at idle then snap the throttle between adjustmemts? Yes.

Sorry if i explaned poorly im tryimg to calibrate the tool (manometer) i hooked all 4 lines in to a 5 way. Then ran one line to a single carb. So all things should be equal. Make sense what im trying to say?
Got it. You were applying the same vacuum level to all 4 gages.

When it was hooked and and running one of the line was off about 3 inches.
Not horrible. Were you able to correct it? If so did you notice that the bike feels stronger and smoother taking off from a standstill. It should because all four cylinders are now getting the same amount of fuel/air and are working equally hard. No slackers!
old77zrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 07:01 PM   #24
mran556
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 33
No i didnt try to correct it yet.

Ill try to fix it but its not a issue with the bike its a issue with the tool. I wanna get the tool working 99 percent before i try to sync all 4 carbs together. I think ill try to remove some tubing from the one line or add zip ties to the other 3 lines to reduce the amount of vacuume they're receiving so that all the lines are equal before i sync the bike.

I am excited to sync it tho shes a little rough atm hope it smooths it out a little.
mran556 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 07:58 PM   #25
old77zrider
Registered User
 
old77zrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Was Long Island now Concord NC
Posts: 1,463
There's a lot of knowledge and experience on this site. Use it.

Ty wraps on a tube this small wont work well. It doesn't provide even pressure around the whole tube. Find the right size tubes that fit snug on the manifold nipples.

Again, tube length means nothing. Believe it. You are going off on a tangent.

Good luck.
old77zrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 12:43 PM   #26
WDD
Registered User
 
WDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by klj7734 View Post
All I have to say is that building a manometer or buying one that has Mercury or any other type of fluid in it is a complete and total waste of time and effort after you have used a Carbtune Pro manometer. Worth every penny!
Yeah, agree. As cheap as I am, and after trying to build and then think about storing the home make monometer, I bought this. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It works, I got a great result, it stores easily, no dripping mess. It got the job done and me back to riding quickly.

BTW - I measure not at idle but at 5,000 rpm. I don't ride at idle, but closer to 5k rpm. In addition, at idle the vacuum bounces a bit, but you get a good steady pull at 5k.
__________________
Not sure what I should put down for my signature.....
WDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > Exhausts, Carburetion & Performance > Gen 1 Exhausts, Carburetion & Performance


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Questions? Comments?
Click on name below to contact via PM
Rabeet (Admin) Desmo (Admin)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website and Message Board Contents Copyright 2001-2007 FZ1OA
The marks YAMAHA® and FZ1® are used under license from Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.
The information on this web site is NOT approved or endorsed by Yamaha Motor Corporation in any way.
Page generated in 0.07008 seconds with 10 queries