make a donation to the fz1oa
fz1oa chat
fz1oa picture uploader
maintain your own photo albums
locate fz1oa members
Members Assistance Guide
search the entire board
click here for fz1oa web site home page
register a new account, it's free!
fz1oa store
email the fz1oa webmasters
read the fz1oa guidelines
read the fz1oa policy
open pat's fz1 site in a new window
open iowaz fz1 site in a new window
technical tips

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > Computers & TechGadgetry

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2018, 04:00 PM   #1
WileECoyote
ACME Test Subject
 
WileECoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bridgeville PA, its not Ten Cee but okay for now......
Posts: 5,173
Why?

Why would a website come up on 4g and not on wifi?
Particular bike website, (not here) will not come up while on wifi. Says its temporarily down or address not correct blah blah blah. Switch to 4g and pops right up.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Aja....when all my dieing dancin is through......I run to you..........


My long lost love.......1987 FZ700
WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 04:01 PM   #2
YamahaMan444
Young Explorer
 
YamahaMan444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 5,007
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2177.jpg (62.6 KB, 98 views)
__________________
.
YamahaMan444 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 04:08 PM   #3
WileECoyote
ACME Test Subject
 
WileECoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bridgeville PA, its not Ten Cee but okay for now......
Posts: 5,173
Hahaha.......... figures.

BTW, this is only at home no where else. It used to come up no issues before Sunday.
__________________
Aja....when all my dieing dancin is through......I run to you..........


My long lost love.......1987 FZ700
WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 04:16 PM   #4
Stella Blue
Yucksamush
 
Stella Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Coastal NC
Posts: 2,120
Well, that just goes to show ya how dangerous it is to be home. When I heard that most accidents occur within 5 miles of home, I got so scared I put the house up for sale, and I moved!
Stella Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 04:30 PM   #5
okrider
Registered User
 
okrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,015
It might be the fault of your wifi network and not necessarily your phone
__________________
'08 Red (Pepper)
Perf: Yoshi TRC CF slip-on, VCyclenut, AIS, BMC, Graves VStacks, Lars, R1 shock(Satan V4), R1 forks, R1 brakes(master/calipers), Galfer steel lines
Other: BMS seat, custom highway pegs, ZG touring windshield, T-Rex, Throttlemeister, Yoshi fender elim w/ BMW signals
okrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 05:13 PM   #6
WileECoyote
ACME Test Subject
 
WileECoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bridgeville PA, its not Ten Cee but okay for now......
Posts: 5,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by okrider View Post
It might be the fault of your wifi network and not necessarily your phone
It would seem so. Went to neighbors, signed in on wifi and same thing. We both have ATT.
__________________
Aja....when all my dieing dancin is through......I run to you..........


My long lost love.......1987 FZ700
WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 05:16 PM   #7
dschult2
Registered User
 
dschult2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: wyoming, mi
Posts: 364
I would think it would be something to do with your cookies or firewall not liking the way the website is configured. No computer expert so couldn't tell you how fix it.
dschult2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 05:37 PM   #8
Pat Glenn
Everything's Just Ducky
 
Pat Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southern California
Posts: 15,299
Since a web server can detect which browser and hence which device type is invoking it, it's possible that they have a different web site version for a computer or laptop (WiFi) than for a tablet or phone (4G) and the tablet or phone version really is down.

Pat
Pat Glenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 05:46 PM   #9
gotfz1
Do you like gladiator movies?
 
gotfz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by WileECoyote View Post
Why would a website come up on 4g and not on wifi?
Particular bike website, (not here) will not come up while on wifi. Says its temporarily down or address not correct blah blah blah. Switch to 4g and pops right up.

Thanks in advance.
A few reasons possible but given the errors you mention my guess is the DNS (Domain Name Server). DNS is what maps names to some machine identified by an addresses. Think of it like a phonebook. There are commonly a primary and secondary DNS assigned to your device when connecting to a network.

When you're on wifi your device is likely using the DNS servers provided by whomever you purchase your service from. On 4G it is likely using the DNS servers of your mobile service provider.

Often folks will bypass their service provider's DNS by changing the settings on the device or on the router under the network settings. Some change because of reliability, others change for privacy, to avoid the provider redirecting some sites or failed connections etc.

Popular options include Google's DNS servers (fast & reliable but they track you, 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) and FreeDNS (no logging, no redirects, 37.235.1.174, 37.235.1.177).

But, there are other causes. Pat's example is one. Security or VPN software may cause similar issues when connecting over different networks.
__________________
SCRIMSHAW!
gotfz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 05:56 PM   #10
Lickety Split
Registered User
 
Lickety Split's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,455
I'll never buy an ACME!
Lickety Split is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 06:03 PM   #11
Fitty
Let's Ride!
 
Fitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Monroe, LA
Posts: 16,770
I've had a similar issue where it helped to type in the whole website address manually into the address bar, including the "www", rather than letting it fill in automatically when you start typing. Probably similar to what gotfz1 was saying.
__________________
"‎Don't count the days; make the days count." Muhammad Ali

Fitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:46 PM   #12
hotboot
pony boy carry me home
 
hotboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: D/FW
Posts: 14,099
You are on the mobile version of that website. Type it in like Fitty suggested or look for a menu top right and request desktop version.
Clear cache of web porn, not passwords.
__________________
It's all about the good life and staying easy with the world - Lyle Lovett
hotboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:56 PM   #13
WileECoyote
ACME Test Subject
 
WileECoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bridgeville PA, its not Ten Cee but okay for now......
Posts: 5,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotboot View Post
You are on the mobile version of that website. Type it in like Fitty suggested or look for a menu top right and request desktop version.
Clear cache of web porn, not passwords.
Well,

I tried typing it in, no luck. Believe it or not, I dont do web porn. There is no desktop version........... it's AF1 and their Aprilia forum. Odd guys, really odd.
__________________
Aja....when all my dieing dancin is through......I run to you..........


My long lost love.......1987 FZ700
WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:02 PM   #14
hotboot
pony boy carry me home
 
hotboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: D/FW
Posts: 14,099
Are you on a phone or 4G tablet ? What happens on a laptop assuming you have one ?

Aliens or cookies
__________________
It's all about the good life and staying easy with the world - Lyle Lovett
hotboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:24 PM   #15
WileECoyote
ACME Test Subject
 
WileECoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bridgeville PA, its not Ten Cee but okay for now......
Posts: 5,173
Tablet. Dont own a laptop. Did go on at work from laptop. Cookies..................hmmmmm.
__________________
Aja....when all my dieing dancin is through......I run to you..........


My long lost love.......1987 FZ700
WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:54 PM   #16
hotboot
pony boy carry me home
 
hotboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: D/FW
Posts: 14,099
White choc macadamia fresh today, c'mon by.
Clear your cookies.
Alien conspiracy or a voodoo spell inherited with the new Italian vixen.
ESTO
equipment
superior
to
operator

restart device . smack device
you are currently # 3417 in line for tech support, please hold
__________________
It's all about the good life and staying easy with the world - Lyle Lovett
hotboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 09:02 PM   #17
Fitty
Let's Ride!
 
Fitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Monroe, LA
Posts: 16,770
Try doing a Google search for the site, and then clicking on the link that the search brings up.
__________________
"‎Don't count the days; make the days count." Muhammad Ali

Fitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 09:36 PM   #18
hooligan998
Save a life, grope your wife!
 
hooligan998's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chester, VA
Posts: 4,937
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 24xdwx.jpg (40.7 KB, 59 views)
__________________
"Hey Cancer, Téigh trasna ort féin!" - Saying on one of Jackie's pink t-shirts.
hooligan998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 11:18 PM   #19
dschult2
Registered User
 
dschult2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: wyoming, mi
Posts: 364
Just for s***s and giggles you could try turning off your firewall and see if you able to log on then. But I wouldn't leave it off if that's the case. Or you could try restarting your router.
dschult2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 07:41 AM   #20
WileECoyote
ACME Test Subject
 
WileECoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bridgeville PA, its not Ten Cee but okay for now......
Posts: 5,173
And today its back. I did try cache, cookies and restart of all devices. Nothing worked. Today, comes right up.
Thank you all for help and giggles.
__________________
Aja....when all my dieing dancin is through......I run to you..........


My long lost love.......1987 FZ700
WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > Computers & TechGadgetry


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Questions? Comments?
Click on name below to contact via PM
Rabeet (Admin) Desmo (Admin)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website and Message Board Contents Copyright 2001-2007 FZ1OA
The marks YAMAHA® and FZ1® are used under license from Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.
The information on this web site is NOT approved or endorsed by Yamaha Motor Corporation in any way.
Page generated in 0.09310 seconds with 10 queries