make a donation to the fz1oa
fz1oa chat
fz1oa picture uploader
maintain your own photo albums
locate fz1oa members
Members Assistance Guide
search the entire board
click here for fz1oa web site home page
register a new account, it's free!
fz1oa store
email the fz1oa webmasters
read the fz1oa guidelines
read the fz1oa policy
open pat's fz1 site in a new window
open iowaz fz1 site in a new window
technical tips

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > "Off Topic" Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2018, 07:13 PM   #1
quazz
Reality can be a tricky thing
 
quazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 19,807
Electrical Outlet

OK this is kind of a dumb question but I am no electrician so here it is anyway:
If you are installing a new receptacle in between two others on the circuit you will have two ground wires. I put one on the ground screw of the receptacle and the other on the green ground screw on the box. Is this OK?
__________________

93 Ford F150, leather shift knob (missing), rubber mats, AM/FM radio.
quazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 07:22 PM   #2
grommet
kinetic mentality
 
grommet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: hangin' with Toto
Posts: 12,220
Leave them connected and strip off another bit of the bare ground wire (from some fresh Romex) and connect it to the receptacle then wrap around the other ones.
__________________


Partly stabilized, partly curious.


Be your own man; don't be an owned man.

Some people would rather be dead than wrong.
grommet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 07:26 PM   #3
WileECoyote
Rebel Scum
 
WileECoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bridgeville PA, its not Ten Cee but okay for now......
Posts: 4,712
I think quazz is daisy chaining them. If so, yes that is correct.

Daisy chain: putting one in the middle of the two........
__________________
When all my dieing dances are through......I run to you..........
My long lost love.......1987 FZ700

WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 07:38 PM   #4
LiquidSilver
Bad Cattytude
 
LiquidSilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Foleadelphia, Wentzylvania
Posts: 6,540
If you have a ground on the wire coming in (assuming 120V), you should have that go to the first outlet tied in with a second ground going to the second outlet. That should be tied to a third ground for the third outlet. And that along with a ground back to the box (If it's a metal box). That puts 2 wires on every outlet screw and one to the box. Or go from the wire coming in to the box and go to the outlets in order.
If you're good, you can wrap a long ground wire from one outlet to the next while leaving it in one piece. The green wire nuts that have a pass thru hole at the top allow you a little creativity in wiring grounds.

If these are 120V workshop outlets, you may want to use the orange 20A outlets, even if you don't have the 20A breaker or wite rated for 20A.
__________________
Don

LiquidSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 07:51 PM   #5
SoCalFZRider
__________________
 
SoCalFZRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The ocean side
Posts: 1,554
The green dot is the ground wire under the green screw on a metal box.
Attached Images
File Type: png elect.png (36.6 KB, 82 views)
SoCalFZRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:10 PM   #6
quazz
Reality can be a tricky thing
 
quazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 19,807
Great diagram, I get it now. my job was without marrette.
__________________

93 Ford F150, leather shift knob (missing), rubber mats, AM/FM radio.
quazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:13 PM   #7
Desmo
Mein Führer!
 
Desmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Palo Alto,CA
Posts: 323,263,605
You have Canadian electricity. I don't think it works the same. Beware!!!!
__________________
“Faith is a story of order humans impose on the chaos of their existence so their soft brains can bear it.” - Niska
Desmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:17 PM   #8
quazz
Reality can be a tricky thing
 
quazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 19,807
The good part is that it is too polite to shock you.
__________________

93 Ford F150, leather shift knob (missing), rubber mats, AM/FM radio.
quazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:19 PM   #9
quazz
Reality can be a tricky thing
 
quazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 19,807
By the way the politeness thing is a myth made up by someone who has never driven in Toronto.
__________________

93 Ford F150, leather shift knob (missing), rubber mats, AM/FM radio.
quazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:35 PM   #10
WileECoyote
Rebel Scum
 
WileECoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bridgeville PA, its not Ten Cee but okay for now......
Posts: 4,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo View Post
You have Canadian electricity. I don't think it works the same. Beware!!!!
Sheesh, I forgot. All bets are off ya canuck........... wire it and buy some fire extinguishers.
__________________
When all my dieing dances are through......I run to you..........
My long lost love.......1987 FZ700

WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:36 PM   #11
WileECoyote
Rebel Scum
 
WileECoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bridgeville PA, its not Ten Cee but okay for now......
Posts: 4,712
Oh, Love you man!!!!!
__________________
When all my dieing dances are through......I run to you..........
My long lost love.......1987 FZ700

WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 02:23 AM   #12
MichaelFZ1
Off the deep end
 
MichaelFZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Georgia Piedmont
Posts: 951
Sounds like you already got it sorted, but like grommet said, make fresh pigtails from a spare bit of romex and screw the grounds together with a wire nut.

You have metal outlet boxes? Typically PVC nail up boxes are used down here in residential, and a pvc box with a ground bond does nothing. Plus, the metal frame around the outlet is made up to the green ground screw regardless, so you shouldn’t have to worry about a ground.
MichaelFZ1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 08:59 AM   #13
gotfz1
Do you like gladiator movies?
 
gotfz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by quazz View Post
By the way the politeness thing is a myth made up by someone who has never driven in Toronto.
__________________
SCRIMSHAW!
gotfz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 09:10 AM   #14
LiquidSilver
Bad Cattytude
 
LiquidSilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Foleadelphia, Wentzylvania
Posts: 6,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo View Post
You have Canadian electricity. I don't think it works the same. Beware!!!!
Positive Earth?
__________________
Don

LiquidSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > "Off Topic" Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Questions? Comments?
Click on name below to contact via PM
Rabeet (Admin) Desmo (Admin)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website and Message Board Contents Copyright 2001-2007 FZ1OA
The marks YAMAHA® and FZ1® are used under license from Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.
The information on this web site is NOT approved or endorsed by Yamaha Motor Corporation in any way.
Page generated in 0.08942 seconds with 12 queries